Romania has also entered the area

On 31 March, Bulgaria and Romania become Schengen members: the Schengen rules will apply in both Member States including on issuing Schengen visas and controls at the internal air and sea borders will be lifted.  

“This is a great success for both countries. And a historic moment for the Schengen area - the largest area of free movement in the world. Together, we are building a stronger, more united Europe for all our citizens,” President of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen said on the eve of the two countries’ partial accession to the Schengen area.

“I am so proud of the work done by so many in both Romania and Bulgaria. Today internal border controls will be lifted at air borders and sea borders. Next step is lifting checks also at internal land borders,” said on her part Ylva Johansson, Commissioner for Home Affairs.